IMI's 11th International Conference

Zoom, Artificial Intelligence & New Advances to Build Global Health

Travel & Visas

Nau mai, haere mai, ki Aotearoa
Welcome to New Zealand



About New Zealand

New Zealand, or Aotearoa, has two main islands (North and South) separated by a stretch of water called the Cook Strait. It is located in the southwestern Pacific Ocean and is home to just over 4.5 million people.


Travel to New Zealand

Auckland Airport is serviced by several international airlines. When travelling internationally by plane, you must also complete a traveller declaration, and receive a Traveller Pass, before travelling. This includes New Zealand citizens and residents, children and infants.

Domestic and regional airlines including Air New Zealand and Qantas also provide frequent services to Auckland from other New Zealand destinations. For airline contact details please click here.

For domestic travellers, there are also intercity coaches which will arrive to the center of the city (a short taxi ride to the Grand Millennium Auckland Hotel). 


Everyone traveling to New Zealand will need to get either an NZeTA or a visitor visa — unless they are an Australian citizen.



If you are an Australian citizen or permanent resident you can visit without getting a visa before you travel to New Zealand.  If you are an Australian permanent resident you must hold an NZeTA (New Zealand Electronic Travel Authority) before you travel. You do not pay the International Visitor Conservation and Tourism Levy (IVL). Australian temporary residents are not eligible for this visa on arrival.


All other nationalities:

If you plan to visit New Zealand for a short period, you must request an NZeTA before you travel if you:

·      travel on a passport from a country on the list of visa waiver countries and territories, and

·      are visiting for up to 3 months — or, if you are a British citizen, up to 6 months.


Visa waiver countries and territories

Passport holders of some countries and territories do not have to apply for a visa before they travel to NZ but must hold an NZeTA (New Zealand Electronic Travel Authority) to receive their visa on arrival. These include (but are not limited to) Austria, Canada, Ireland, Norway, Oman, Qatar, the United Arab Emirates, the United Kingdom, and the United States.


For a full list of visa waiver countries, please visit:


Applying for the NZeTA

To apply for your NZeTA, you can complete the online application here.


While most applications are processed within 72 hours, please apply in advance to avoid any issues. You can apply online or via the free mobile app (link) for a faster process (and less fees!).  An NZeTA request costs NZD $17 on the app, or NZD $23 if completed online.

To apply you will need:

-a valid passport that you will use to travel to New Zealand (valid for at least 3 months after your return)

-a credit card or debit card (Visa or Mastercard)

-an email address

-a photo of your face, or a device that can take one. Please see guidance on acceptable photos for NZeTA or visas here:


Please note: If you are entering New Zealand you must also pay an IVL, which funds tourism infrastructure and helps protect our natural environment. You pay the IVL at the same time as you request your NZeTA. The IVL costs NZD $35.


Non-visa waiver countries and territories

For those traveling from countries where visas to enter New Zealand are required (including but not limited to India, Iraq and Pakistan), you must apply for a visa in advance. Visa processing times can take about 2-3 months so we encourage you to apply as soon as possible.


Should you require assistance or a letter for visa application purposes, please email as soon as possible and no later than July 1, 2023, with your background and contact details. 

Upcoming Deadlines

Conference Highlights